Every electric car, cheapest first
We track 21 electric cars. Below ₹10 lakh ex-showroom there are 3; below ₹15 lakh, 8; below ₹20 lakh, 16. Range is the manufacturer's certified figure for the cheapest variant's battery, with the test cycle it was certified on — figures from different cycles cannot be compared.
| Car | Cheapest variant | Price | Certified range | Home charger |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tata Tiago EVHatchback · 4 variants | Smart19.2 kWh | ₹6,99,000 | 226 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Included |
| MG Comet EVHatchback · 3 variants | Executive17.3 kWh | ₹7,89,800 | 230 km per charge (ARAI) | Included |
| Tata Punch EVSUV · 6 variants | Smart30 kWh | ₹9,79,000 | Range awaiting certification | Included |
| Tata Nexon EVSUV · 6 variants | Creative+30 kWh | ₹12,49,000 | 275 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Included |
| Tata Tigor EVSedan · 4 variants | XE26 kWh | ₹12,49,000 | 315 km per charge (MIDC, part not stated) | Included |
| Kia Syros EVSUV · 7 variants | HTK42 kWh | ₹13,49,900 | 443 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| Mahindra XUV 3XO EVSUV · 2 variants | AX539.4 kWh | ₹13,88,999 | 351 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| MG Windsor EVSUV · 5 variants | Excite38 kWh | ₹14,84,800 | 332 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Included |
| Maruti e VitaraSUV · 3 variants | Delta49 kWh | ₹16,19,000 | 440 km per charge (ARAI) | Included |
| Tata Curvv EVSUV · 2 variants | Accomplished X55 kWh | ₹17,19,000 | 502 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Included |
| MG ZS EVSUV · 4 variants | Executive50.3 kWh | ₹17,99,000 | 461 km per charge (ARAI) | Varies |
| Hyundai Creta ElectricSUV · 8 variants | Executive42 kWh | ₹18,02,800 | 420 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| Kia Carens Clavis EVMPV · 8 variants | HTK+42 kWh | ₹18,03,900 | 404 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| Tata Sierra EVSUV · 8 variants | Pure63 kWh | ₹18,79,000 | 566 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| Mahindra BE 6SUV · 7 variants | One59 kWh | ₹19,45,000 | 573 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| MG Hector Tomahawk EVSUV · 3 variants | Excite 7S69.2 kWh | ₹19,49,800 | 517 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Included |
| Mahindra XEV 9SSUV · 6 variants | One Above59 kWh | ₹20,65,000 | 521 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| Tata Harrier EVSUV · 7 variants | Adventure65 kWh | ₹21,79,000 | 538 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| Mahindra XEV 9eSUV · 5 variants | Pack One59 kWh | ₹21,90,000 | 522 km per charge (MIDC P1+P2) | Extra |
| BYD Atto 3SUV · 3 variants | Dynamic49.92 kWh | ₹24,99,000 | 468 km per charge (MIDC P1) | Included |
| BYD eMax 7MPV · 2 variants | Comfort71.8 kWh | ₹28,30,000 | 485 km per charge (MIDC, part not stated) | Included |
Ex-showroom, Delhi. 11 of the 21 include a home wall-box charger in every price and 9 sell it separately; on the other one it depends on the variant, so two EV prices are only comparable once you know which. Each car's powertrains page compares its battery packs.
Electric cars under ₹10 lakh
3 electric cars start below ₹10 lakh ex-showroom: Tata Tiago EV (₹6,99,000), MG Comet EV (₹7,89,800) and Tata Punch EV (₹9,79,000).
Electric cars under ₹15 lakh
8 electric cars start below ₹15 lakh ex-showroom: Tata Tiago EV (₹6,99,000), MG Comet EV (₹7,89,800), Tata Punch EV (₹9,79,000), Tata Nexon EV (₹12,49,000), Tata Tigor EV (₹12,49,000), Kia Syros EV (₹13,49,900), Mahindra XUV 3XO EV (₹13,88,999) and MG Windsor EV (₹14,84,800).
Electric cars under ₹20 lakh
16 electric cars start below ₹20 lakh ex-showroom: Tata Tiago EV (₹6,99,000), MG Comet EV (₹7,89,800), Tata Punch EV (₹9,79,000), Tata Nexon EV (₹12,49,000), Tata Tigor EV (₹12,49,000), Kia Syros EV (₹13,49,900), Mahindra XUV 3XO EV (₹13,88,999), MG Windsor EV (₹14,84,800), Maruti e Vitara (₹16,19,000), Tata Curvv EV (₹17,19,000), MG ZS EV (₹17,99,000), Hyundai Creta Electric (₹18,02,800), Kia Carens Clavis EV (₹18,03,900), Tata Sierra EV (₹18,79,000), Mahindra BE 6 (₹19,45,000) and MG Hector Tomahawk EV (₹19,49,800).
The longest certified range
On MIDC P1+P2, the cycle most of these are certified on, the longest figures — one per car, from its longest-range variant — are the Mahindra BE 6 Three+ 79 kWh at 708 km (₹24,95,000), the Mahindra XEV 9S One Above 79 kWh at 679 km (₹22,65,000), the Tata Sierra EV Adventure 75 kWh at 665 km (₹22,19,000), the Mahindra XEV 9e Pack Two 79 kWh at 656 km (₹26,50,000) and the Tata Harrier EV Fearless+ 75 kWh at 627 km (₹25,29,000). 5 cars certified only on another cycle are left out of that comparison rather than ranked against it: MG Comet EV, Tata Tigor EV, Maruti e Vitara, MG ZS EV and BYD eMax 7. Certified range is measured on a standard cycle and is longer than what a car covers on a highway or with the air-conditioning on.
On the road: EV road tax depends on the state
Verified, with the date we last read each state's rule and, where it has one, the date it ends: Andhra Pradesh (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 10 Dec 2029); Chandigarh (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 17 Mar 2028); Delhi (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 31 Mar 2030); Goa (read 11 Oct 2026); Gujarat (read 11 Oct 2026); Haryana (read 11 Oct 2026); Himachal Pradesh (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 20 Jan 2027); Karnataka (read 11 Oct 2026); Maharashtra (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 31 Mar 2030); Odisha (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 31 Dec 2026); Punjab (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 20 Feb 2027); Rajasthan (read 11 Oct 2026); Tamil Nadu (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 31 Dec 2027); Telangana (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 31 Dec 2026); Tripura (read 11 Oct 2026, ends 31 May 2027); Uttar Pradesh (read 11 Oct 2026).
Many states waive or cut road tax on electric cars, and several of those waivers carry an end date. We print an EV rate only where we have verified it — 16 of 36 states and union territories today. Elsewhere our on-road figures charge the petrol rate and say so. Each car's on-road page shows its total in every state, and the RTO charges guide explains the slabs.
